the aging of eggs.

My question, your advice

Moderator: Hatter Police

the aging of eggs.

Postby princess on Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:10 pm

say i were to put some eggs in a cupboard, and leave them there.
can anyone tell me how long it will take before, if they are cracked open, they will smell bad?
i presume that the badness of the smell will increase with time, but is there a certain amount of time, at which the badness of smell will have reahed it's limit, and will no longer be able to increase in badness?

I have been saving some eggs for over two years now, and want to ensure that they have attained the worst possible smell before i use them. it would break my heart if i were to use them, only to discover later that they could have smelt worse, so please help me.
mew mew mew pur purr purrr mew mew lick
princess
Insane Hatter
Insane Hatter

Postby nil on Wed Mar 28, 2007 8:10 am

If the egg is empty and clean, it shouldn't smell too bad, else the smell is instant.

Actually, the badness of the smell usually decrease with time, if not, you will get use to the bad smell and become desensitized; either way, you won't smell anything after a certain period of time (this might not apply to the friends you invite to your home)
nil
Hatmaster
Hatmaster

Postby princess on Sun Apr 01, 2007 11:30 am

but if the egg is full and unbroken, the smell will be worse when i break it after more time goes by, right?! I'll cry if i open them to find a pleasant frangrance!!!!
princess
Insane Hatter
Insane Hatter

Postby hamster on Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:43 pm

princess wrote:but if the egg is full and unbroken, the smell will be worse when i break it after more time goes by, right?! I'll cry if i open them to find a pleasant frangrance!!!!

You'd cry?

Well, your tear ducts are safe, princess. The smell you crave would definitely be worse in a full and unbroken egg. :fire:
hamster
Insane Hatter
Insane Hatter

Postby nil on Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:42 am